Walking task

For the photography roundabout we had our previous tutor-Shaun McAllister.

We were given a walking task brief which would include us being split into groups. Each group would then be given a map which would have a route mapped out for us to follow. Each group had a slightly different route to follow so we didn’t all have the same photographs. We were told ‘to record’ our walk by either creating drawings/sketches or by photographing our walk. We were told to have a set of images by the end of the task documenting our walk from start to finish. Shaun wanted us to pick a set of at least 10 good strong images from our walk that we could put on our blogs showing the journey. We were given two and a half hours to complete the walk. We were also told that within our photographs we had to include a portrait of a stranger and a photograph of something we found such as a plastic bottle etc.

We have also been given a group of photographers to research. These happen to be the same artists that we researched for the same walking task in first year of photography. I will still include research about them below.

I have created a set of 12 images. I managed to get a photograph of a stranger although I don’t think it’s very strong. I don’t like the fact that I haven’t centred the image which I think makes it look unprofessional. I also managed to capture an image of an object (the sign) which I photographed up close to create a more abstract look. The overall group of my images I feel have been composed well with correct exposure and through using the rule of thirds or golden mean.

William Eggleston

William Eggleston is one of the artists who’s work I admire the most. I find that the consistency of his work is strong throughout most of his images. The images all have a depth to them that makes them exciting and interesting. I also noticed quite a while a go that his use of the golden mean and the rule of thirds is prominent throughout. The rule of thirds and the golden mean are aspects of photographs that I aim for in my own images.

Leave a comment